Mobile GMaps Home Page
 FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister  
 ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 

[Fixed] Internal GPS not working on HTC/Windows-Mobile
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MGMaps Forum Index -> GPS Problems and Suggestions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kailashnj
Junior


Joined: 06 May 2008
Posts: 7

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 4:28 pm    Post subject: [Fixed] Internal GPS not working on HTC/Windows-Mobile Reply with quote

HI Friends,

I have a Windows Based mobile - HTC P3300 with internal GPS>

I have installed all the maps and softwares as informed but somehow I am not being able to use the internal GPS. Can some one help me with this.

Regards,
Kailash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
x.
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here. Is there a fix for it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We're testing some fixes, see this document attached for more info, it was written by Matthias Petsche who suggested this solution. You'll need mgmaps v1.41.02 (latest dev. version) or 1.39.16 alpha (attached) to test.


Installation of MGMaps.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Installation of MGMaps.zip
 Filesize:  72.95 KB
 Downloaded:  3395 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zangetsu
MGMapper


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 26

Phone Type: Sprint Motorola Q

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

having some problems with jbed. any ideas? it won't load after install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zangetsu
MGMapper


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 26

Phone Type: Sprint Motorola Q

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zangetsu wrote:
having some problems with jbed. any ideas? it won't load after install.


i used the jbed from here:
http://forum.mgmaps.com/viewtopic.php?t=1816

got it to load, but i'm not sure what com port to use for my moto q?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zangetsu wrote:
got it to load, but i'm not sure what com port to use for my moto q?

Seems that's not present in the tutorial... if you followed the tutorial I attached earlier in this topic, select "GPSGate" for the GPS device in MGMaps Settings/GPS/Select Device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
x.
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2008 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here it's working, thanks! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zangetsu
MGMapper


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 26

Phone Type: Sprint Motorola Q

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2008 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cristian Streng wrote:
zangetsu wrote:
got it to load, but i'm not sure what com port to use for my moto q?

Seems that's not present in the tutorial... if you followed the tutorial I attached earlier in this topic, select "GPSGate" for the GPS device in MGMaps Settings/GPS/Select Device.


link?

i couldn't find it anywhere about gpsgate Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryomahino
Newbie


Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:00 am    Post subject: mgmaps mortscript Reply with quote

anyone please can post the mgpams mortscript that run jbed, gpsport, an mgmaps in one click.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:50 am    Post subject: Re: mgmaps mortscript Reply with quote

ryomahino wrote:
anyone please can post the mgpams mortscript that run jbed, gpsport, an mgmaps in one click.
Thanks

These are the contributed installation documentation and the mortscripts...



mgmaps_mscr.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  mgmaps_mscr.zip
 Filesize:  74.28 KB
 Downloaded:  2079 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ryomahino
Newbie


Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks cristian I try right now.
Edit: Works great in my XDA Orbit

Thanks to everyone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kicking back
Junior


Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 5

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have tried gpsport w/ jbed (3dmod version) and it doesn't seem to work for me. would it matter that i am running both jbed and mgmaps off my sd card? also, it seems that other people with the same brand i have (eten) seem to have difficulty getting their gps to work w/ mgmaps under jbed as well.....perhaps something specific w/ our devices or the integrated sirf III gps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kicking back wrote:
i have tried gpsport w/ jbed (3dmod version) and it doesn't seem to work for me. would it matter that i am running both jbed and mgmaps off my sd card? also, it seems that other people with the same brand i have (eten) seem to have difficulty getting their gps to work w/ mgmaps under jbed as well.....perhaps something specific w/ our devices or the integrated sirf III gps?

Any success with this JBed version I'm attaching? Also, other people report running MGMaps under IBM J9 successfully, with the GPS configured through GPSPort.



Jbed.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Jbed.zip
 Filesize:  632.67 KB
 Downloaded:  1797 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kicking back
Junior


Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 5

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well crap. i uninstalled the jbed3dmod and installed the version you posted. now i can't even install mgmaps b/c it keeps saying that the root certificate can't be found. it turns out that the cloudy version you sent me doesn't accept any certificates while the jbed3dmod does....and i'm unsure how to change that.


i would try ibm j9, but i can't find it anywhere except for $25 on some site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gibson
Junior


Joined: 05 Jul 2008
Posts: 9

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:11 pm    Post subject: some experience Reply with quote

i have successed in using internal GPS on WM6 system,here is some eperiences.
you shoule find a proper Java simulator. I have used J9 \ Tao and Jbed.
J9 can find my serial port ,but once select the port ,the program was dead and no respond.
Both Tao and Jbed(some versions) can works with gps well, but the GPSGate is necessary. you should choose "TCP Server" as the GPSGate's output for MGMaps. GPSID and GPSPort is unnecessary.
Now select "GPSGate" for the GPS device in MGMaps Settings/GPS/Select Device, you should be happy.
________
digital vaporizer


Last edited by gibson on Sat Feb 05, 2011 2:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wishinshow
Junior


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 3

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can somebody tell me why it is so bloomin' difficult to get mgmaps up an' running on WM6?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wishinshow wrote:
can somebody tell me why it is so bloomin' difficult to get mgmaps up an' running on WM6?

Because the default Java VM that comes on many WM phones sucks Smile ... And there are too many other VM versions that you don't know which to choose, as only some work on some phones. In addition, the GPS is not made available to java apps by any of these Java VMs (only on some phones) and you then need to install a third party application such as GPSGate or GPSPort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
spadival
Power User


Joined: 12 Jun 2007
Posts: 65

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To add to the confusion, Sun has come out with its own JVM for WM6, but only for HP branded phones.

Hope to get my hands on the "extracted" JVM soon and try mgmaps on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaakl
Developer


Joined: 20 Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Location: Estonia
Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spadival wrote:
To add to the confusion, Sun has come out with its own JVM for WM6, but only for HP branded phones.

Hope to get my hands on the "extracted" JVM soon and try mgmaps on it.


I just got an actual IPAQ 614c with this JVM from the local HP guys (thank you!) and did some research. HP guy told that the 900 series messenger (the blackberry clone) has the same Sun's own JVM version (2.0.something). It works generally fine with mgmaps (1.4 beta), except the GPS connection:
- the Sun's JVM has no comm port, Bluetooth or JSR-179 APIs in Java (just like the other winmobile JVMs)
- when I select "GPSGate" from mgmaps, then mgmaps tells that "this works only on windows mobile", and does allow to select it. Looks like just a small bug in mgmaps code in the detection of the platform. I did not see any message in the debug log for that.
- then I installed Esmertec JBED (build 20080222.3.1), same mgmaps version into it, and there the GPS works fine via GPSGate.
- I did not yet try with IBM and Intent JVM-s, but I expect the same as with Esmertec.

Question: does GPSGate TCP/IP Server, and the GPSport app do exactly the same from mgmaps point of view (have the same default tcp port and NMEA forwarding API)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jaakl wrote:
- when I select "GPSGate" from mgmaps, then mgmaps tells that "this works only on windows mobile", and does allow to select it. Looks like just a small bug in mgmaps code in the detection of the platform. I did not see any message in the debug log for that.

Yeah, it searches for a few known platforms (at least JBed and J9)... did you try it with Sun's JVM for Windows Mobile?

jaakl wrote:
Question: does GPSGate TCP/IP Server, and the GPSport app do exactly the same from mgmaps point of view (have the same default tcp port and NMEA forwarding API)?

They should be the same, but I can't be sure about any of them. For instance one may just forward raw NMEA data, while the other processes GPS data then re-generates NMEA statements.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MGMaps Forum Index -> GPS Problems and Suggestions All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
MGMaps topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group