Mobile GMaps Home Page
 FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister  
 ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 

Mobile GPS on Sprint
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 31, 32, 33  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MGMaps Forum Index -> GPS Problems and Suggestions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vinod162
Junior


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:50 am    Post subject: working on samsung A-900M (Sprint) Reply with quote

I managed to get the alpha3 release working on my samsung a900m phone.

As mentioned by others above, I had to edit my _policy.txt (via QPST) to remove the restrictions on the gps api.

It pulls the coordinates correctly, but the auto refresh doesnt work properly.
It works as soon as the app is started, but after ~10 seconds it stops refreshing altogether.
At that time, even if I do a GPS-Where am I, it returns the last location where it stopped refreshing. The only way to get the correct coords again is to exit and restart the application.

Is there an updated version for sprint phones?

Thanks a lot for this great app !!

-Vinod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwncool
Junior


Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 6

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I'm getting an error downloading the sprint GPS version. I have a Samsung a920. Do you guys know what might be wrong or what I might do to download/install it correctly? I get the error both from downloading straight from here, and from downloading the individual JAR and JAD and uploading them to a phone uploader service. I'd really like to get this working, so if anyone knew a solution, it'd be great! Thanx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cwncool wrote:
Yeah, I'm getting an error downloading the sprint GPS version. I have a Samsung a920. Do you guys know what might be wrong or what I might do to download/install it correctly? I get the error both from downloading straight from here, and from downloading the individual JAR and JAD and uploading them to a phone uploader service. I'd really like to get this working, so if anyone knew a solution, it'd be great!

Hmm... what kind of error do you get? Any specific error message?

Cristian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:26 pm    Post subject: Re: working on samsung A-900M (Sprint) Reply with quote

vinod162 wrote:
Is there an updated version for sprint phones?

Yes, there's an updated version available on the download page or directly at http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jad. Let us know if this new version works fine.

Cristian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
clbowens
Junior


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 3

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:16 pm    Post subject: Sprint version download error Reply with quote

i get the error: The requested page can not be displayed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
itZme
MGMapper


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 25

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:20 pm    Post subject: Re: working on samsung A-900M (Sprint) Reply with quote

Cristian Streng wrote:
vinod162 wrote:
Is there an updated version for sprint phones?

Yes, there's an updated version available on the download page or directly at http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jad. Let us know if this new version works fine.

Cristian


I just grabbed this version from my phone at the WAP address and it works fine on my Sprint LG Fusic. I will test out the refreshing capabilities later today when I go somewhere. I did set the backlight to "always on" and it is flashing about every 3 seconds right now. I thought I saw something posted about this problem on the forums so I will go look for that now.

Thanks to Cristian for your continued development on this great application Smile

-- itZme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bboons
Junior


Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 10

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:29 pm    Post subject: Help needed on A900m Reply with quote

I have a Samsung A900m phone and I've been desperately trying to run this app on the phone. I must have spent a couple of hours in reading all of the information on this forum but I'm missing quite a bit of stuff.
First off I tried downloading the latest Sprint version of the App. from wap.mgmaps.com, the application gets downloaded but the install fails with a "910" error. The generic version installs fine but the GPS feature does not work. I keep seeing a lot of posts about a hack to somehow install the app and enabling GPS access but looks like that post might be deleted or edited out because I just cannot find the post.
If you are successfully using this app on a A900m please let me know how you have done it.
Appreciate all help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Sprint version download error Reply with quote

clbowens wrote:
i get the error: The requested page can not be displayed.

Try emptying your cache on your phone, or hit reload on your computer - the link may have been non-functional yesterday as I made some changes on the WAP server. It's definitely functional now and it points to the JAD file. The JAR file is at http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jar.

Cristian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:40 pm    Post subject: Re: working on samsung A-900M (Sprint) Reply with quote

itZme wrote:
I just grabbed this version from my phone at the WAP address and it works fine on my Sprint LG Fusic. I will test out the refreshing capabilities later today when I go somewhere. I did set the backlight to "always on" and it is flashing about every 3 seconds right now. I thought I saw something posted about this problem on the forums so I will go look for that now.

Yeah, the backlight is still not functional on all phones. Did it work before? I mean have you tried setting the backlight to "always on" in the previous version of mgmaps that you had?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
itZme
MGMapper


Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 25

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I had never tried the "always on" backlight function for this program until today. I have found a program that lights all the pixels on the screen at once to use the display as a flashlight and it works on my phone. I can point you to that program if it would help you find out why it goes on and off in your app.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vinod162
Junior


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:15 am    Post subject: Re: working on samsung A-900M (Sprint) Reply with quote

Cristian Streng wrote:
vinod162 wrote:
Is there an updated version for sprint phones?

Yes, there's an updated version available on the download page or directly at http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jad. Let us know if this new version works fine.

Cristian


The new version has the same problem. When I exit and restart the application, I get the correct coordinates.
Auto refresh works a couple of times as soon as the app is started, but then it stops refreshing. (The GPS indicator is always red)

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vinod162
Junior


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:23 am    Post subject: Re: Help needed on A900m Reply with quote

bboons wrote:
I have a Samsung A900m phone and I've been desperately trying to run this app on the phone. I must have spent a couple of hours in reading all of the information on this forum but I'm missing quite a bit of stuff.
First off I tried downloading the latest Sprint version of the App. from wap.mgmaps.com, the application gets downloaded but the install fails with a "910" error. The generic version installs fine but the GPS feature does not work. I keep seeing a lot of posts about a hack to somehow install the app and enabling GPS access but looks like that post might be deleted or edited out because I just cannot find the post.
If you are successfully using this app on a A900m please let me know how you have done it.
Appreciate all help.


I have an A900M and the app works on my phone (almost Smile)

First off, you need QPST to access your phone's filesystem. You can google it. You will need your MSL to access your phone. You can get this from Sprint by calling them.
Next, you need to edit _policy.txt to allow unsigned apps to access the gps. The details are mentioned in this thread (a few pages back).

Then download the app from this location.
http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jad

and it should work.

PM me if you have any further questions.

-Vinod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hyatt
Power User


Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 47

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:48 am    Post subject: samsung a920 Reply with quote

Hey guys I'm having the same problem that Vinod162 is having earlier in this forum " As mentioned by others above, I had to edit my _policy.txt (via QPST) to remove the restrictions on the gps api.

It pulls the coordinates correctly, but the auto refresh doesnt work properly.
It works as soon as the app is started, but after ~10 seconds it stops refreshing altogether.
At that time, even if I do a GPS-Where am I, it returns the last location where it stopped refreshing. The only way to get the correct coords again is to exit and restart the application." Any Ideas how we can fix this?
Keep up the good work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

itZme wrote:
No I had never tried the "always on" backlight function for this program until today. I have found a program that lights all the pixels on the screen at once to use the display as a flashlight and it works on my phone. I can point you to that program if it would help you find out why it goes on and off in your app.

Yes, that would help - thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:24 am    Post subject: Re: samsung a920 Reply with quote

Hyatt wrote:
It pulls the coordinates correctly, but the auto refresh doesnt work properly. It works as soon as the app is started, but after ~10 seconds it stops refreshing altogether.
At that time, even if I do a GPS-Where am I, it returns the last location where it stopped refreshing. The only way to get the correct coords again is to exit and restart the application." Any Ideas how we can fix this?
Keep up the good work.

No ideas yet, but I'll keep investigating. Some other users reported that it works just fine and continues to refresh on the LG Fusic - maybe the problems only occur on samsung a900/a920.

Cristian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bboons
Junior


Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 10

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Help needed on A900m Reply with quote

Quote:

I have an A900M and the app works on my phone (almost Smile)

First off, you need QPST to access your phone's filesystem. You can google it. You will need your MSL to access your phone. You can get this from Sprint by calling them.
Next, you need to edit _policy.txt to allow unsigned apps to access the gps. The details are mentioned in this thread (a few pages back).

Then download the app from this location.
http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jad

and it should work.

PM me if you have any further questions.

-Vinod

Vinod, Thanks for the help. The changes that needed to be made to policy.txt is not available in this thread. Anyway I managed to find the relevant info from sprintusers.com forum. I got the app to install and work with the internal GPS finally!
I have not tested the refresh yet, I'll try that soon and post my feedback.

Great App guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cristian Streng
Founder


Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 4585

Phone Type: (many)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Help needed on A900m Reply with quote

bboons wrote:
Quote:

I have an A900M and the app works on my phone (almost Smile)

First off, you need QPST to access your phone's filesystem. You can google it. You will need your MSL to access your phone. You can get this from Sprint by calling them.
Next, you need to edit _policy.txt to allow unsigned apps to access the gps. The details are mentioned in this thread (a few pages back).

Then download the app from this location.
http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jad

and it should work.

PM me if you have any further questions.

-Vinod

Vinod, Thanks for the help. The changes that needed to be made to policy.txt is not available in this thread. Anyway I managed to find the relevant info from sprintusers.com forum. I got the app to install and work with the internal GPS finally!
I have not tested the refresh yet, I'll try that soon and post my feedback.

Great App guys!

Great - can you let us know the exact thread in that forum? With that info I should be able to put together a document with installation instructions for Sprint GPS features.

Cristian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brucebond
Junior


Joined: 20 Jan 2007
Posts: 4

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:15 pm    Post subject: Re: samsung a920 Reply with quote

Hyatt wrote:
Hey guys I'm having the same problem that Vinod162 is having earlier in this forum " As mentioned by others above, I had to edit my _policy.txt (via QPST) to remove the restrictions on the gps api.

It pulls the coordinates correctly, but the auto refresh doesnt work properly.
It works as soon as the app is started, but after ~10 seconds it stops refreshing altogether.
At that time, even if I do a GPS-Where am I, it returns the last location where it stopped refreshing. The only way to get the correct coords again is to exit and restart the application." Any Ideas how we can fix this?
Keep up the good work.


I have same issue using the V3m. Great Job, Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickgtx
MGMapper


Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 20

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:46 pm    Post subject: Detail instructions for the Sprint RAZR V3m Reply with quote

Arrow Updated Feb 14, 2007.

These instructions are for the Sprint RAZR V3m when downloading OTA fails. Other phones may differ.

Here are some detail instructions.

Atempting to download the Sprint GMaps OTA [over the air] with your Sprint V3m you may get "Error: This issue has been reported. Please try again later. 910 or 904" . I tried the Sprint internal browser, Opera Mini, and even http://rumkin.com/tools/sprint/index.php once I had the files on my PC.

You need to download the xxx.jad and xxx.jar files listed in step 2 to your PC and copy them to your phone.

To do this, use BitPim or QPST to copy the files to your phone. You need P2K to find you MSL (P2K Offset 0055. Six digits) for QPST. You can get P2K and BitPim from http://hacktherazr.com/downloads.html and QPST from http://cellular-support.com/downloads/details.php?file=339.

Details of the location of the files and PERM: values are at http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=91504

1.) Install a version of GMaps that will install to set up the files and directories needed. The generic version works fine. See http://www.mgmaps.com/download.php. If you cannot download any version OTA, copy any xx.txt file that you have and rename it nn.txt for step 3. Make sure nn.txt does not exist.

2.) Download mgmaps_alpha-3jad and mgmaps_alpha-3.jar to your PC.
http://wap.mgmaps.com/signed/mgmaps_sprint.jad
http://wap.mgmaps.com/signed/mgmaps_sprint.jar
-- or -- Unsigned versions:
http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_alpha-3.jad
http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_alpha-3.jar

3.) With QPST or BitPim look in brew/mod/obione/jas/index/ for the GMaps nn.txt file. "NAME: Mobile GMaps" appears near the bottom of the file. In my case it was 18.txt. So I'll use 18 as the example, but use your nn in practice. So, I'm interested in these files:
- brew/mod/obione/jas/index/18.txt
- motorola/shared/jas/content/18.jad
- motorola/shared/jas/content/18.jar

4.) Change the line PERM: 1=0 to 1=1 in the 18.txt file.
PERM: 0=2,1=1,2=0,3=0,4=0,5=0
There is no _policy.txt on the Sprint V3m.

5.) Rename the xxx.jad and xxx.jar you downloaded in step 2 to 18.jad and 18.jar and copy to motorola/shared/jas/content replacing the GMAPS jad and jar you had installed in step 1.


Last edited by rickgtx on Wed Feb 14, 2007 2:55 pm; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohanD
MGMapper


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Detail instructions for the Sprint RAZR V3m Reply with quote

rickgtx wrote:
JohanD wrote:
- Alpha3 install: I'm only seeing the .jad file from the web link. Should I be installing a specific .jar file? I've just been downloading the stable release and overwriting the .jad file with the alpha .jad via BitPim. This works fine, aside from the permissions issue that I mentioned.

Have I missed a step somewhere? I also have my MSL code, but I didn't see anything that I was supposed to do with it, aside from using QPST.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Now alpha3 is mgmaps_sprint.jad. The jad contains the link to the jar file. You can see it with Notepad, but I list it below. Here are some detail instructions.

Atempting to download the Sprint GMaps OTA [over the air] with your V3m phone from this location http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jad on the Sprint V3m you get "Error: This issue has been reported. Please try again later. 910" . I tried the Sprint internal browser, Opera Mini, and even http://rumkin.com/tools/sprint/index.php once I had the files on my PC.

You need to download mgmaps_sprint.jad and mgmaps_sprint.jar to your PC and copy them to your phone.

To do this, you need P2K to find you MSL (P2K Offset 0055. Six digits) and QPST or BitPim to copy the files to your phone. You can get P2K and BitPim from http://hacktherazr.com/downloads.html and QPST from http://cellular-support.com/downloads/details.php?file=339. I could not get BitPim to work so I use QPST.

jessesanforn discusses the location of the files and PERM: values at http://forum.mgmaps.com/viewtopic.php?p=623#623

1.) Install a version of GMaps that will install to set up the files and directories needed. The generic version works fine. See http://www.mgmaps.com/download.php.

2.) Download mgmaps_sprint.jad and mgmaps_sprint.jar to your PC.
http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jad
http://wap.mgmaps.com/mgmaps_sprint.jar

3.) With QPST or BitPim look in brew/mod/obione/jas/index/ for the GMaps nn.txt file. "NAME: Mobile GMaps" appears near the bottom of the file. In my case it was 18.txt. So I'll use 18 as the example, but use your nn in practice. So, I'm interested in these files:
- brew/mod/obione/jas/index/18.txt
- motorola/shared/jas/content/18.jad
- motorola/shared/jas/content/18.jar

4.) Change the line PERM: 1=0 to 1=1 in the 18.txt file.
PERM: 0=2,1=1,2=0,3=0,4=0,5=0
There is no my_policy.txt on the Sprint V3m.

5.) Rename mgmaps_sprint.jad and mgmaps_sprint.jar to 18.jad and 18.jar and copy to motorola/shared/jas/content replacing the GMAPS jad and jar you had installed in step 1.


OMG it worked!!!!!!!!!

I thought I had done all of this before... but for some reason it worked this time. I credit your excellent instructions. Thanks!!!!! I'm glad to help test any new releases now that I've gotten it to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MGMaps Forum Index -> GPS Problems and Suggestions All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 31, 32, 33  Next
Page 9 of 33

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
MGMaps topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group