Mobile GMaps Home Page
 FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister  
 ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 

Tools to Convert single tiles to Multiple Tiles per File
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MGMaps Forum Index -> Stored Maps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ryuuketsu
Junior


Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 9

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

5dark wrote:
I wanted to revive this thread. I tried using MapAlive to combine tiles but mgmaps doesn't seem to recognize the new map when it loads. Is there any other things I need to keep in mind?

It recognizes the original single tile map.
This is using the latest mgmaps and gMapMaker to dl the tiles. I have a BB 8820, OS 4.5.

I could use gMapMaker to dl more tiles per file but I have a huge set of tiles for my city I don't want to dl again.

Thanks!


I'm facing the same problem.

So, here are the details :

Phone: ASUS P750 <Windows mobile 6.1>

Maps -
Area 1- Zoom 1-7
Area 2- Zoom 8 -13
Area 3 - Zoom 8 -13
Area 4 - Zoom 8 -13
Area 5 - Zoom 9 -17

Downloaded ALL with Tile size 1 and Hash size 97.
Total files 100,000+

Downloaded MapAlive.
Open with Java <not using cmd prompt>
Select MgMapsCache folder
Select Tile size 64
Select destination folder
Start conversion.

Conversion completed fine and overall Size on disk reduced.

Copied to phone
Unable to read the maps. <no tiles are seen>

Cache.conf

version=3
tiles_per_file=64
hash_size=1


Still able to still see the original 1 tile map.


Please help...


~Ryuu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ambra
Power User


Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 92

Phone Type: SE K810i

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please upload resulting MGMapsCache folder, or part of it, if it's large.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuuketsu
Junior


Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 9

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ambra wrote:
Please upload resulting MGMapsCache folder, or part of it, if it's large.


Thank you very much for replying. ^^

Attached is the MGMapsCache folder for one such attempted conversion.

Zoom lvl was 1 - 17. However, I have attached files of only zoom 1 -11.


Also, please let me know if you need any other info.

~Ryuu



MGMapsCache1.rar
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  MGMapsCache1.rar
 Filesize:  645.56 KB
 Downloaded:  1218 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuuketsu
Junior


Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 9

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ambra,

I just redownloaded the maps for tile size 64 , hash 1 and it works perfectly on the phone.

However, converted files still dont work.

Anyway, my problem is solved as of now. So I guess any further research on this would be only academic.

Now, if I could only get the GPS to work with mgmaps.. I'll be all set... Sigh...

~Ryuu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ambra
Power User


Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 92

Phone Type: SE K810i

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Ryuuketsu.

I have just tried you map files and they work well. No problem at all. Did you forget to create custom map type "BloreAlive" and then switch to it?

Anyway, I'm glad you solved the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuuketsu
Junior


Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 9

Phone Type: Unknown

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ambra wrote:
Hi Ryuuketsu.

I have just tried you map files and they work well. No problem at all. Did you forget to create custom map type "BloreAlive" and then switch to it?

Anyway, I'm glad you solved the problem.


Ooooh. Then thats what I might have missed. I had selected Google. Anyway, not gonna try it now as I have it working. But, I'll give it a shot later and let you know if something comes up.

Thanks a bunch for looking into it. Appreciate it. ^_^

~Ryuu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:06 am    Post subject: A bug report (sort of) Reply with quote

I think I've found a bug in the MapAlive:
- it ignores the very topmost zoom level, the "0"th, where one tile is expected to be found.

See an attached screenshot (the input folder tree and the MapAlive's report about it's contents).

I set the MapAlive to create the 128-tiles-per-file blobs, and it never creates the 0-level map.

I'm using the latest (I believe) MapAlive on the latest JRE.



MAPAlive-(no-level-0)-error.PNG
 Description:
No zoom level 0
 Filesize:  29.45 KB
 Viewed:  24288 Time(s)

MAPAlive-(no-level-0)-error.PNG




Last edited by booBot on Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:46 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ambra
Power User


Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 92

Phone Type: SE K810i

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 9:47 am    Post subject: Re: A bug report (sort of) Reply with quote

booBot wrote:
I think I've found a bug in the MapAlive:
- it ignores the very topmost zoom level, the "0"th, where one tile is expected to be found.


I'm not sure if MapAlive should consider zoom level 0. MapCruncher doesn't have zoom level 0. gMapMaker also. I'm not sure if there is zoom level 0 in Google, Bing and other maps.

Usually, tiles are named with combination of 4 letters or numbers, where number of characters in the file name corresponds to zoom level, so there could be no zoom level 0 in that case.

How did you get zoom level 0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:54 am    Post subject: Re: A bug report (sort of) Reply with quote

ambra wrote:

How did you get zoom level 0?

As per instructions:
- I've used this "whole World" .MAP file
Code:

GoogleMap
00-06: -80.0, -179.999 : 80.0, 179.999

with the gMapMaker utility. The screenshot in my bug report from Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:06 am (the lower-right part of it) shows all the folders that are automagically created in the process.
- then I was trying to pack the collection into the MTPF.

Your utility does that (omitting the 0th zoom level), the phone (Nokia 6680) and MGMaps work fine, except I cannot zoom out to see the whole World map - there is no such level, zoom == 0. I.e. the maps are fine within the 1~6 zoom levels, but the very topmost is missing because there is no GoogleMap_0 subfolder in the resulting MGMapsCache folder.
The MapAlive's input MGMapsCache folder contans the GoogleMap_0 subfolder with the 0\0_0.mgm subfolder\file, which looks like this:



0_0.png
 Description:
the whole World (renamed mgm to png for convinience of viewing on this page)
 Filesize:  8.81 KB
 Viewed:  24248 Time(s)

0_0.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ambra
Power User


Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 92

Phone Type: SE K810i

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:36 pm    Post subject: Re: A bug report (sort of) Reply with quote

booBot wrote:
I cannot zoom out to see the whole World map - there is no such level, zoom == 0

I understand the problem, but even if you had zoom level 0 in resulting MGMapsCache folder, you wouldn't be able to zoom below zoom level 1 - MGMaps doesn't allow it. It can't display zoom level 0.

I don't think it would take much time to implement zoom level 0, but I can't see the value of it, as it can't be displayed in MGMaps.

Please someone correct me if I'm wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

even if you had zoom level 0 in resulting MGMapsCache folder, you wouldn't be able to zoom below zoom level 1 - MGMaps doesn't allow it. It can't display zoom level 0

I think you are wrong here.

This is how I came to notice this issue: I zoomed out from level 6 pressing the "*" button six times - and OOPS!, the map is missing, the relevant wallpaper is displayed instead.
I've made a set of Google Road Maps with zoom levels from 19 up to 0 (according to the gMapMaker's settings), MTPFed it, loaded into my phone - and counted, how many zoom levels actually exist.
The deepest, 19th, is 10 meters, then go all other, up to the 1st - 2000 km (each with a valid map image), and then the missing one - 0th with 5000 km marker and no map at all.
If I do not MTPF the set - all zoom levels are there - from 19th to 0th, all with their relevant images.

Please, consider adding the relevant iteration to process the 0th zoom level.
Thank you in advance!
Smile

PS
I think the process should be incremental - if an output folder already exists, if there is some structure tree, just add all missing tiles from an input folder.

_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ambra
Power User


Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 92

Phone Type: SE K810i

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

booBot wrote:
even if you had zoom level 0 in resulting MGMapsCache folder, you wouldn't be able to zoom below zoom level 1 - MGMaps doesn't allow it. It can't display zoom level 0

I think you are wrong here.


I'm really sceptical about this, but I will double check it. At least, the MGMaps version I have (1.40.*) can't go below zoom level 1.

Maybe Cristian can help us on this?

Can you please upload tiles you have (with zoom level 1) or at least confirm that your maps are correctly alligned with GPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to depend on a map currently selected.
With Yahoo maps, yes indeed, there is no 0th zoom level, but if you select the Google (Road) map - there will be.
MGMaps v1.39.21

These are the tiles that I perceive as zoom level 1:



0_0.png
 Description:
GoogleMap_1\0\0_0.mgm
 Filesize:  11.11 KB
 Viewed:  24185 Time(s)

0_0.png



0_1.png
 Description:
GoogleMap_1\1\0_1.mgm
 Filesize:  4.86 KB
 Viewed:  24185 Time(s)

0_1.png



1_0.png
 Description:
GoogleMap_1\62\1_0.mgm
 Filesize:  9.9 KB
 Viewed:  24185 Time(s)

1_0.png



1_1.png
 Description:
GoogleMap_1\63\1_1.mgm
 Filesize:  4.49 KB
 Viewed:  24185 Time(s)

1_1.png



_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT


Last edited by booBot on Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And this tile should be on the 0th zoom level, obtainable by gMapMaker with this .MAP definition:
Code:

GoogleMap
00-00: -85, -179 : 85, 179



0_0.png
 Description:
GoogleMap_0\0\0_0.mgm
 Filesize:  8.81 KB
 Viewed:  24184 Time(s)

0_0.png



_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT


Last edited by booBot on Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And finally - I confirm that on the Google Road Map on all zoom levels from 1st to 6th - I'm positioned correctly - in Saint-Petersburg, Russia - when I'm at home (as I am right now).

PS
I've tried to use this "Whole World" .MAP definition
Code:

YahooMap
00-00: -85, -179 : 85, 179

on Yahoo maps, an empty (all gray) tile was obtained by the gMapMaker.

_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Tools to Convert single tiles to Multiple Tiles per File Reply with quote

Pyrpolizer wrote:
The codes are Windows based and you will need

MS Word installed.
MS Excel installed.

Is it possible to adapt your macros to work on the OpenOffice tools?
I gave them a try but it did not work "out of the box".

_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 2:04 pm    Post subject: Re: A bug report (sort of) Reply with quote

ambra wrote:
I'm not sure if there is zoom level 0 in Google, Bing and other maps.

Not to begin a holy war on this...
I've compared all MGMaps-supported maps - nothing comes even somewhere close to Google's (if we are not speaking about big cities in so called "civilized world", I've checked places like Trinkomalee or Pokhara, where I've been or plan to go to).
Not even 19th (by Google's measures) zoom is useless there, but as up as 14th quite often does not have anything meaningful...

_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:19 pm    Post subject: THE proof Reply with quote

Here are the three screenshots taken from my Nokia, please have look.

I hope this is quite obvious - there is the 0th zoom level in the program.



FEscr(004).jpg
 Description:
Zoom level 0
 Filesize:  18.26 KB
 Viewed:  24131 Time(s)

FEscr(004).jpg



FEscr(005).jpg
 Description:
Zoom level 1
 Filesize:  24.54 KB
 Viewed:  24131 Time(s)

FEscr(005).jpg



FEscr(007).jpg
 Description:
Zoom level 2
 Filesize:  27.37 KB
 Viewed:  24131 Time(s)

FEscr(007).jpg



_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the 19th zoom level, the deepest available on Google, the zoom number coincides with the gMapMaker's setting.

I've just counted twice - there are twenty zoom levels on a Google map, and definately, the 0th is missing after MapAlive's MTPF is performed.



FEscr(010).jpg
 Description:
Some nice Pokhara corner shown at the 19th zoom level.
 Filesize:  13.82 KB
 Viewed:  24117 Time(s)

FEscr(010).jpg



_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booBot
Power User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 30

Phone Type: Nokia 6680 v5.04.07 15-02-06 RM-36

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:58 pm    Post subject: The THE PROOF Reply with quote

Very Happy
Spent some time HEXing around, creating a handcrafted MTPF.

This is the missing 0th zoom level:



FEscr(011).jpg
 Description:
MGMapsCache\GoogleMap_0\0_0.mgm
 Filesize:  23.53 KB
 Viewed:  24094 Time(s)

FEscr(011).jpg



_________________
MGMaps v1.39.21 on RS MMC 2GB (FAT16, 32kB blocks), GPS: NaviTel RX-200BT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MGMaps Forum Index -> Stored Maps All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 6 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
MGMaps topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group